Whisky

Whisky is a spirit drink obtained by distillation from grain and matured in wooden casks for at least three years. The name whisky goes back to the 5th century. At that time Christian missionaries began to missionize Ireland and brought back from there technical equipment and the knowledge for the production of medicines and perfume.

Production
Whisky is made from water, grain and yeast. As the mineral and peat content and the hardness of the water influence the quality of the whisky, a lot of attention is paid to the location when building new distilleries. Grain is the most important raw material in whisky production. Depending on the production process and the type of grain, grain is either malted or unmalted. Malt barley is the essential flavour enhancer in many whiskies. Only high quality grain is suitable for malting. There is a categorisation of grains into 9 grades, of which only grades 1-3 are suitable for malting. The final ingredient for whisky production is yeast. However, only a few types of yeast are suitable for whisky. The function of the yeast is to convert the sugar by metabolism into alcohol and other substances that add flavour to the whisky.

Maturation process
The long maturation in a wooden cask has a great influence on the taste of the whisky. The final taste depends on many different factors such as the type of wood, the geographical location of the warehouse, the microclimate and the length of the maturing process. While American whiskies are made in white oak casks, in Europe the European oak is used for whisky casks. For many malt whiskeys, the peak of the maturation is reached at an age of 10 - 15 years. During bottling, water is added to the whisky to achieve a common drinking strength, which is between 40% and 46%. However, undiluted bottlings, which are bottled directly in cask strength, are becoming increasingly popular. These whiskies are therefore much more intense and complex in flavour.

Whisky is not just whisky
There are different types of whisky worldwide, which differ in taste, origin and production process. Especially as a beginner the different terms can confuse you. A Scotch indicates Scottish origin. It must be produced in a Scottish distillery from malted barley and be aged for three years in oak casks in Scotland. When talking to whisky connoisseurs, there is often talk of single malts. These are whiskies that come from a single distillery and are made only from malted barley. On the other hand there are blended whiskies, which account for more than 90% of the Scotch whiskies sold. A blend consists of a mixture of sometimes more than 40 different distilleries. These are often enjoyed in longdriniks and cocktails. Well-known brands such as Johnnie Walker, Chivas Regal, Ballantine's, Grant's enjoy great popularity among blends worldwide. American whiskies are often referred to as Bourbon. In the case of bourbon, the grain must consist of at least 51% corn, the rest may be supplemented by any other grain. Bourbon matured for at least two years may be called straight bourbon. Most bourbons mature for at least four years in the barrel and may be produced anywhere in the USA.
 


1'017 products

Sort: Bestseller
Availability: Mail delivery

18 Years Extremely Rare (Single Malt, 70cl)
92.90
Glenmorangie 18 Years Extremely Rare (Single Malt, 70cl)
12 years (Single Malt, 70cl)
57.90
Dalmore 12 years (Single Malt, 70cl)
21 years (Single Malt, 70cl)
165.–
Glengoyne 21 years (Single Malt, 70cl)
Tokyo (Blended Whisky, 70cl)
41.90
Suntory Tokyo (Blended Whisky, 70cl)
15 years (Single Malt, 70cl)
69.40
Bowmore 15 years (Single Malt, 70cl)
10 Years (Single Malt, 70cl)
45.90
Laphroaig 10 Years (Single Malt, 70cl)
16 Years (Single Malt, 70cl)
65.–
Lagavulin 16 Years (Single Malt, 70cl)
21 years (Single Malt, 70cl)
105.–
Glenfarclas 21 years (Single Malt, 70cl)
12 years (Single Malt, 70cl)
51.50
Glen Garioch 12 years (Single Malt, 70cl)
95 (Rye Whiskey, 70cl)
37.48
Bulleit 95 (Rye Whiskey, 70cl)
Japanese Harmony Hibiki (Blended Whisky, 70cl)
119.–
Suntory Japanese Harmony Hibiki (Blended Whisky, 70cl)
18 years (Blended Whisky, 70cl)
173.–
Togouchi 18 years (Blended Whisky, 70cl)
Quarter Cask (Single Malt, 70cl)
49.80
Laphroaig Quarter Cask (Single Malt, 70cl)
Three Wood (Single Malt, 70cl)
63.80
Auchentoshan Three Wood (Single Malt, 70cl)
Woodford Reserve (Bourbon, 70cl)
44.90
Woodford Reserve Woodford Reserve (Bourbon, 70cl)

Whisky

Whisky ist eine Spirituose, die durch Destillation aus Getreide gewonnen wird und mindestens drei Jahre im Holzfass reift. Der Name Whisky geht bis ins 5. Jahrhundert zurück. Damals begannen christliche Missionare Irland zu missionieren und brachten von dort technischen Ausrüstungen und das Wissen für die Herstellung von Arzneimitteln und Parfüm mit.

Herstellung
Whisky wird aus Wasser, Getreide und Hefe hergestellt. Da der Mineralien- und Torfgehalt sowie die Härte des Wassers die Qualität des Whiskys beeinflussen, wird beim Bau von neuen Brennereien viel Wert auf den Standort gelegt. Getreide ist der wichtigste Rohstoff bei der Whiskyherstellung. Das Getreide wird je nach Herstellungsprozess und der Getreideart gemälzt oder auch ungemälzt verwendet. Gemälzte Gerste ist bei vielen Whiskys der wesentliche Geschmacksgeber. Nur Getreide mit hoher Qualität ist für das Mälzen geeignet. Es gibt eine Kategorisierung von Getreide in 9 Stufen., wovon sich nur die Stufen 1-3 für das Mälzen eignen. Die letzte Zutat für die Whiskyherstellung ist Hefe. Es eignen sich jedoch nur wenige Hefearten für den Whisky. Die Funktion der Hefe ist, dass sie den Zucker durch Stoffwechsel in Alkohol und andere Stoffe wandelt, die dem Whisky weitere Aromen verleihen.

Reifeprozess
Die lange Reifung in einem Holzfass hat grossen Einfluss auf den Geschmack des Whiskys. Dabei hängt der finale Geschmack von vielen verschiedenen Faktoren wie die Holzart, die geografische Lage des Lagerhauses, das Mikroklima und die Dauer der Reife ab. Während bei amerikanischen Whiskys Weisseiche Fässer verwendet werden, wird hierzulande in Europa die Europäische Eiche für Whiskyfässer verwendet. Der Höhepunkt der Reifung wird bei vielen Malzwhiskeys bei einem Alter von 10 – 15 Jahren erreicht. Bei der Abfüllung in Flaschen wird dem Whisky Wasser hinzugefügt, um eine gebräuchliche Trinkstärke zu erreichen, welche sich zwischen 40% und 46% befindet. Jedoch werden unverdünnte Abfüllungen, welche direkt in Fasstärke (engl. Cask strength) abgefüllt werden, immer beliebter. Diese Whiskys sind daher viel intensiver und komplexer im Aroma.

Whisky ist nicht gleich Whisky
Weltweit gibt es verschiedene Whiskysorten, die sich im Geschmack, in ihrer Herkunft und in ihrem Herstellungsprozess unterscheiden. Gerade als Einsteiger können die verschiedenen Begriffe einen verwirren. Ein Scotch weist auf die schottische Herkunft hin. Er muss in einer schottischen Destillerie aus gemälzter Gerste hergestellt werden und drei Jahre in Eichenholzfässern in Schottland gelagert werden. Wenn man mit Whisky-Geniessern spricht, ist häufig die Rede von Single Malts. Darunter versteht man Whiskys, die aus nur einer einzelnen Destillerie stammen und nur aus gemälzter Gerste hergestellt werden. Demgegenüber stehen die Blended Whiskys, die mehr als 90% der verkauften Scotch Whiskys ausmachen. Ein Blend besteht aus einer Mischung von teilweise über 40 verschiedenen Destillerien. Diese werden häufig gern in Longdriniks und Cocktails genossen. Bekannte Marken wie Johnnie Walker, Chivas Regal, Ballantine’s, Grant’s erfreuen sich weltweit grosser Beliebtheit unter den Blends. Bei amerikanischen Whiskys ist häufig die Rede von Bourbon. Das Getreide muss beim Bourbon zu mindestens 51% aus Mais bestehen, der Rest darf durch beliebige andere Getreidesorten ergänzt werden. Mindestens zwei Jahre gereifter Bourbon darf sich Straight Bourbon nennen. Die meisten Bourbons reifen für mindestens vier Jahre im Fass und dürfen überall in den USA hergestellt werden.
 


1'037 Produkte

Sortierung: Bestseller
Verfügbarkeit: Postversand

18 Years Extremely Rare (Single Malt, 70cl)
92.90
Glenmorangie 18 Years Extremely Rare (Single Malt, 70cl)
12 Years (Single Malt, 70cl)
57.90
Dalmore 12 Years (Single Malt, 70cl)
12 Years (Single Malt, 70cl)
51.60
Glen Garioch 12 Years (Single Malt, 70cl)
14 Years (Single Malt, 70cl)
54.90
Oban 14 Years (Single Malt, 70cl)
Toki (Blended Whisky, 70cl)
41.90
Suntory Toki (Blended Whisky, 70cl)
21 Years (Single Malt, 70cl)
168.98
Glengoyne 21 Years (Single Malt, 70cl)
Hibiki Japanese Harmony (Blended Whisky, 70cl)
119.–
Suntory Hibiki Japanese Harmony (Blended Whisky, 70cl)
16 Years (Single Malt, 70cl)
65.–
Lagavulin 16 Years (Single Malt, 70cl)
Three Wood (Single Malt, 70cl)
63.80
Auchentoshan Three Wood (Single Malt, 70cl)
Makers Mark (Bourbon, 70cl)
41.80
Jim Beam Makers Mark (Bourbon, 70cl)
21 Years (Single Malt, 70cl)
105.–
Glenfarclas 21 Years (Single Malt, 70cl)
10 Years (Single Malt, 70cl)
45.90
Laphroaig 10 Years (Single Malt, 70cl)
95 (Rye Whiskey, 70cl)
37.48
Bulleit 95 (Rye Whiskey, 70cl)
Quarter Cask (Single Malt, 70cl)
49.80
Laphroaig Quarter Cask (Single Malt, 70cl)
Yamazaki 12 years old (Single Malt, 70cl)
210.–
Suntory Yamazaki 12 years old (Single Malt, 70cl)